Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

National Ethiopian Bird Pose blessed by the gods.

This is my friend John. I asked him to help me with this week’s photo challenge.

Me: Pterodactyl call. (John taught me how. I’m pretty good at it now and loud. When I first tried I sounded like a Brooklyn Crow. I can attract Pterodactyls from the front of the store.)  John I need you to pose for me so I can shoot into the sun and get a good silhouette photo.

John: Pterodactyl return. He’s coming in from the alley pushing five cases of Vola (wine) on a two wheeler, stops. My face doesn’t have to be in it does it?

Me: No it’s a silhouette. If it works it’ll be just your silhouette. He shrugs, nods. We go out to the alley. The sun is bright.

John: What do you want me to do? (I’m always making him do crazy poses for drawings.

This one is above the door to the back room (at Trader Joe’s)

And John & his evil twin

Me:Do this, I pose like a Cleopatra hieroglyphic.

John: How’s this, stands on one leg, leans forward points heroically off to the distance, makes Pterodactyl call. This is the National Ethiopian Bird Pose.

I shoot into the sun with my beautiful phone camera, can’t see anything but myself reflected, turn around look at coolest photo ever including a shadow I didn’t count on and pink light raining down like a blessing from the gods! (later I crop out the dumpster).

Awesome!

P.S. If you’d like to be part of the fun click on over to Weekly Photo Challenge, here’s the link:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/weekly-photo-challenge-silhouette/

And check out what other creative bloggers are shooting!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette « What's (in) the picture?

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette… | Mirth and Motivation

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette {The Past} | Far Away

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette « patriciaddrury

  5. Awesome picture! John is fantastic and such a good sport. As always, your artwork is great. The picture of the workers is so fun. How long did they have to hold the pose. 😉

  6. pamtanzey says:

    Thanks Maddie! John is always funny and willing to help. For the group picture (Holy Hole in One)I had them pose as they came in the back, shot a bunch of photos of each one singly and some with Kim, who is in the middle to get the sizes accurate. They were all good sports about it and it’s fun. The art is up on the wall as part of the neighborhood store theme.

  7. eof737 says:

    I love the humor you injected in the post too. 😉

I'd Love to Hear From You!

