The Sketchbook Project

It’s here, my sketchbook for the Sketchbook Project 2013.

The plan: Begin November 1 as if I am working on a novel for NaNoWriMo and complete this project by midnight November 30. Keeping fingers crossed.

My category is Undecided but I am going to illustrate a song that Yossarian, also known as YoDaGoodDog or fondly YoDa, made up all on his own and sang to me called I HAD A GOOD DAY.

Yoda. He wants me to entice you to follow along as I immortalize him in song by giving you the first line (my personal favorite)

Oooooooh, I had a good poop in the park.

Stay tuned for the rest of the song and my super creative illustrations (I hope) as I have enlisted several friends to pose as characters in his song that meet us in the park that awesome morning.

Now a little history with The Sketchbook Project and me.

Sketchbook 2009: the Theme, only one theme- Everyone We Know.
My Sign Team thought it would be a great idea to do the sketchbook. We signed up.

Of the three of us, all perplexed with the theme, too broad, (I had hundreds of ideas) One of us completed the project and mailed it on time, um, not me.

Mine became a little journal of my move from the little house on the corner of the desert where I lived for eight years to the next street over, to the house that was in all of the sunrise photos that I took for those eight years.

Along came 2011 Sketchbook Project with new themes, lots of them and I boldly signed up again. The Theme In Five Minutes.

YoDa Made his debut in this little poem, and I finished! Well, not in time for the World Tour but I finished it and it is in the Brooklyn Library where the Sketchbooks live. Click on the cover and it will take you to my sketchbook page at Art House Co-op and you can see the whole thing.

And on and on.

2012 Sketchbook Project- Theme I Remember You. I was excited, and had an elaborate story mapped out Remembering the Good and flip it over in the back Remembering the wicked with them meeting somewhere in the middle.

The Sketchbook came and they changed the books, it was no longer a Moleskin, which is okay but they put the barcode on the back which messed up my design. No problem I switched to a more personal theme remembering my dogs and cats and horses with photos of them and my daughter and became more about remembering who we were as we grew up together.

Here is the cover sketch.

Let’s just say I’m still working on that one.

So here we go. If you want to join me I think there’s still one more day to sign up for the project http://www.arthousecoop.com/projects/sketchbookproject

NaNoWriMo begins tomorrow night at one minute past the Witching hour check it out here-  http://www.nanowrimo.org/

Pencils ready?

Thanks for stopping by.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Sketchbook Project

  1. Awesome, awesome, awesome! I looked at all of 5 Minutes, and it’s fantastic. I’ll buy that book! 🙂 And Yoda has such a nice picture today! First line is great – good luck this year!

I'd Love to Hear From You!

