Sketchbook Project 2013 – First Sketches

 

 

My Sketchbook for this project is the development of a picture book from the first rough sketches to the storybook, notes, thumbnails, storyboard and dummy of the book, I HAD A GREAT DAY.

I plunged right in with sketches. I sketch messy then put tracing paper over it and clean it up so it is brilliant. Sometimes I am so brilliant I scare myself, this isn’t one of those times, but it’s coming along. I just haven’t decided what I want him to look like.

I like the eyes. Some of these are too real, some too cute. I really like the bottom one here but I think it looks more like Phoebe than YoDa.

This is where I get hung up. I don’t have a clear vision of his character and I’m looking at photos of him and he has great expression, then I try to make him look too real, oh brother whine, whine, hmm yeah maybe some wine. Well, it’s a start. Tomorrow’s another day Scarlett. Maybe tomorrow I will scare myself, hope so.

Thanks for stopping by.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sketchbook Project 2013 – First Sketches

  1. Martha Knoll says:

    looking forward to seeing this story book come to fruition Pam

  2. pamtanzey says:

    Thank you Martha, boy me too! Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Awesome! I looked at the first book, sketch on the left, and it looks just like art teachers tell you to draw. Center lines, shapes, etc. And then you put tracing paper over! What a great idea. I always wondered how an artist would get rid of all of the unnecessary lines and still have a clean picture. You learn something new every day. Great sketches!

  4. pamtanzey says:

    Thanks! Yep I make a huge mess of it and sometimes I like all the crazy sketchy lines and keep them showing in the finished work, sometimes not. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Allyson Mellone says:

    Love your hand. The first sketch page really caught my eye. There is so much movement in them.

I'd Love to Hear From You!

