Daily Prompt: Hindsight

Now that you’ve got some blogging experience under your belt, re-write your very first post.

lexie

She dreams of horses in the morning with the bright pink sky behind them.

There were always horses, lined up on the window sill, drawn in black crayon in secret under the kitchen table, running beside the car. I read every horse book in the library from Hucklebones to the complete Black Stallion series, everything that Marguerite Henry wrote became gospel, and I practiced drawing herds of them on the back of Grandma’s rolls of wallpaper until they would fill an entire room.

The real ones didn’t come until later. In the Year of the Horse I bought a Dodge Colt and had a crazy lapse of judgement while visiting a friend who just moved her horse to a new barn. A little gray Arab was delivered back to the horse dealer while I was there. Another teenage girl discovered boys, he said, and the Mom didn’t want to spend any more money feeding the horse. Our eyes met and he became our first horse, Kahlil.

kahlil

This blog won’t be just about horses, but there’s bound to be a lot of them, and some art, my art mostly. I’m an artist.

pamtanzey-littlemisty

There will be some Trader Joe’s stuff. That’s where I spend most of my days and a good deal of my energy, yeah a little shopping but a whole lotta signs, I’m a sign artist.

weiners2

bananas1

jmermaid

There will be hounds,

pwscarlet

"YoDa's New Toy"

An occasional kitty,

Baby Wolfgang

And some darned pretty skies.

20121129_061743_resized

Thanks so much for stopping by.

signgoddess

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Daily Prompt: Hindsight

  1. This is an awesome post, and you are an awesome person! Of course, I love your photos and artwork. Marguerite Henry – I’ve sold about a million of her books to families all over the country. Did you enjoy C. W. Anderson, and do you recall Paul Brown? When I would go to used book sales, I always snapped up the horse books because they are so beloved by so many children.

  2. pamtanzey says:

    Thanks! My actual first post was real short. I think it was like I’m an artist here’s my art.
    I LOVED C.W. Anderson my biggest goal was to draw as well as C.W. Anderson. I can still pour over his art with love. Also his book Afraid to Ride is a wonderful help to someone who has had a fall or injury to overcome the fear of riding again. Love Paul Brown too. I’m so happy children still love these books. I met Marguerite Henry when I was young at a book fair. She gave me a signed bookplate with Misty’s little hoof print. I still have it. Who ever thought I’d have two Misty’s in my back yard!

  3. You are so talented! And it is interesting to know more about you. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Pingback: Reflections: In Hindsight, Optimism Prevails… | Mirth and Motivation

  5. eof737 says:

    You are a vey talented artist Pam… Keep it up! 😉

  6. Pingback: Reflections: In Hindsight, Optimism Prevails… » The Blog Farm

  7. I love horses and dogs so I am following you! Your art is gorgeous!

I'd Love to Hear From You!

