Daily Prompt: Quote Me

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

grandma

This is my Grandma. Here is her quote “Hootie, Hootie, Hootie.”

What does it mean? Who knows. She said it on an exhale, usually kind of tired and sometimes followed by, “It’s a great old world if you don’t weaken.” The hootie was more cheerful though. It’s a chance to pause and review an event, or a meal after the dishes are finished and you finally get to sit down, as in phew, glad that’s done.

She read the newspaper in bed at the end of the day with her slippers on while I dragged all of the canned goods out of the bottom cupboard and stacked them on a bench so we could play Store. Hahaha,  good grief I was destined for Trader Joe’s at five years old.

She was my goddess Grandma and I followed her like a little shadow and pretended I was her favorite.

Yep. Hootie hootie hootie, it’s a great old world if you don’t weaken.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Daily Prompt: Quote Me

  1. I LOVE that! I wish I could say it! I almost can if I try really hard — aoooo! Can’t quite get that last sound. I’ll just think it. Your Grandma must have been one special lady!

  2. seeker says:

    Smart looking lady your grandma.

  3. dlmchale says:

    My grandmother wasn’t about quotes (besides, who could compare to yours!!!) But she was about making an entire loaf of cinnamon toast as a remedy for everything that ails you. Sick at home: cinnamon toast! Teased at school: cinnamon toast. Caught lying to your parents: cinnamon toast (and a lecture). Where did that generation come up with this stuff, and aren’t be lucky they did?

  4. This is a wonderful post, Pam! You make me wish I had known your grandmother. She sounds like she was a remarkable woman. LOL at you being destined for Trader Joe’s at a young age. You probably were her favorite, but she couldn’t say that. 😉

  5. How funny! My mother in law says ‘hooey’ but I think it means something is bad (she lives on Norfolk Island which has its own language and slang).

  6. pamtanzey says:

    Ohh, I’ve heard that one too probably from Grandma too, as in what a bunch of hooey. I know I’ve said it for years. I love hearing slang or endeared words from other places. Thanks!

  7. pamtanzey says:

    Thank you! I only remembered we used to play store when I was writing the post. We played it at my other Grandma’s apartment too only with her knick-knacks not groceries, I guess I was running a Dime Store then.
    I still pretend I’m her favorite. She passed away when I was eighteen.

  8. pamtanzey says:

    Thank you! Boy I wish I had that coat she was wearing now. I wish I looked like in the coat she was wearing.

  9. pamtanzey says:

    Oh I love cinnamon toast! How lucky you were! Thanks for stopping by!

  10. pamtanzey says:

    Thanks! I know it’s a hard one to pronounce, but you’re coming pretty darn close! Heck that’s all you have to do anyway is think it! Yeah she was.
    Thanks.

I'd Love to Hear From You!

