Weekly Photo Challenge: Love

bliss

We were so brimming with love, my heart gets all full of it again just looking at this picture. There are few pictures of me I am usually behind the camera, but this morning when we were young and lived like perpetual campers in an old adobe house on Last Chance Ranch, this morning I wanted a picture of us together.  I set up the tripod with my new Nikon FM on the hill next to the ranch house. The timer was set, we were posing and at that last moment Little Moosie hopped in and I heard the shutter click just as the tripod started sliding down the hill.

I know I romanticize about that damned place still. In reality it was an old falling down house and one hardship after another riddled with poorly thought out decisions, some I would surely be incarcerated for. We spent five chilled to the bone winters there. One of them surprised us and the whole county with a hundred year flood. The current was so strong down what normally was a trickle of a creek, it swept unfortunate cows all the way to Del Mar valley and flooded the racetrack. It stranded us for days and we ran out of wood and tried to burn cow pies in the fireplace. Don’t try that at home.

Still I remember the quiet and the moon coming up over the avocado grove behind us and the little gray horse who peeked in the window.

What does love mean to you? What image, what photo comes to mind? Join up and share your memories with us and the Weekly Photo Challenge:Love

Thanks for stopping by.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Love

  1. Zen says:

    Very cute.. 🙂

  2. You never cease to amaze me, Pam. Beautiful photo, and great storytelling to go with it.

  3. pamtanzey says:

    Thank you Maddie. I sure appreciate your comments.

I'd Love to Hear From You!

