One Hundred Followers and a Clean Keyboard

IMG_1903

I learned last night that I now have one hundred followers! Thank you you guys! I got so excited my beverage (beer) jumped right out of my hand and right onto my keyboard! Soaked paper towels and squealing aside, I thought I did a pretty good job cleaning it up until I sat down all ready to be a creative genius tonight and the keyboard was dead, not even a Num Lock light.

After a small panic attack I got out my trusty can of air and attacked beneath the keys with gusto and an avalanche of cookie crumbs, dirt and dog hair blew about.Ā  It’s an old computer/keyboard and the poor thing has been living with two hairy dogs, and a messy nibbler. That’s when I put on my new glasses and saw what was still under the keys, more of the above kinda stuck and damp still from the beer.

Sorry you really didn’t need to visualize this. After a good hour or so of patient clearing with my x-acto knife, I blew it out again with the air, plugged it back in, restarted and voila! It works! It’s a huge sense of accomplishment, well wasting an entire evening cleaning up the mess I made the night before and now I’m too pooped to do anything else sort of accomplishment, so I’m celebrating with another beverage and toasting you my followers.Ā  Thank you! I hope you are all having a wonderful evening!

p.s. My desk photo is sort of a ringer. It was from the night before NaNo a couple of years ago. My desk is not that tidy right now. There’s more cool stuff sort of stacked about.

Thanks for stopping by!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to One Hundred Followers and a Clean Keyboard

  1. Cathy Tenzo says:

    This same thing happened to me the other day. Not the good part–the coffee part. I only splashed a little on the keyboard, and I thought I got it all, but apparently later it messed up (wisdom of the intertubes–turn it off right away and let it dry.) Anyway, since you had a scare, thought I’d share the link to the haiku I wrote about it since we both had the same issue. Let’s not let our computers get in this habit! http://haikuplatespecial.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/23-january-2013/

  2. Hahahaha … cheating with an old photo. I love your desk space; it looks so cozy. So happy you got the keyboard cleaned up and working. The last thing I spilled into my keyboard was a Starbucks Frappuccino, and although it still works, when the days are humid, some of the keys stick. I should have sent it to you for a proper cleaning. šŸ˜‰

  3. P.S. – Congratulations on 100 followers!! šŸ™‚

  4. pamtanzey says:

    hahaha I know huh. I’d probably be embarrassed if you saw it tonight. Oooh Frappuccino, my favorite! When you’re writing on humid days you must get a hankering for a Frappuccino all over again.

  5. pamtanzey says:

    Thank you! It’s really sweet when it’s cleaned up. Makes me happy to just sit here and read my emails.

  6. pamtanzey says:

    Oh I hope your computer is feeling better. I loved your haiku, and your blog. Thanks for stopping by and sharing it. I’ve never written one before. I’m going to try it.

  7. Cathy Tenzo says:

    Thanks, you should! I just started writing them although I’ve written lots of other poetry. I figure I’ll be better after a year of practice. Loved your blog, too. It was a keyboard that got wet so I am giving it more time upside down before I attempt using it again…. If you like this blog you might like my other blog Yay! Pigeons about writing and art and such. You can click on the tab for it at Haiku Plate Special or find it here http://yaypigeons.wordpress.com/ Keep making art!

I'd Love to Hear From You!

