Wine o’ the Month . . . sign

wineothemonth1

I get to make a big banner sign for the top of endcap number One. It’s the first one you see coming in the front door, now known as Wine of the Month. It’s an old pirate scroll with a broken up treasure chest and a bottle of wine.

This is my quickie sketch with grid and notes as I figured out how big and how the heck it will be attached. It is also where I discovered I’ve been spelling Velcro in my most sensible bird loving way Velcrow. I erased it when I made that discovery, kind of embarrassing, but then I found it amusing and am adding it to my list of misspelled misfortunes.

Ah back to the story.

wineothemonth2

This is a big long banner and it has to be double sided, can’t be plain old black as you’re coming up the frozen aisle, so the backside is going to be a Treasure Map to Trader Joe’s of course.

I worked it all out, enlarged it onto the foam core with a grid, something I never knew how to do before working here, cut it out, and pieced it together with blue painter’s tape to make sure it all fit.

wineomonth1

Very exciting! I love this part, seeing your little sketch becoming something big and dimensional.

Next step, trace around each piece, right sides together just like sewing, for the reverse treasure map side, and cut with a sharp x-acto. Then lay a prime coat of tinted gesso, half at a time so the foam core doesn’t curl.

wineomonth2

I weigh the unpainted ends down, usually with iced tea jugs but these are small parts so I used whatever was handy and heavy.

That’s as far as I got today. I’ll keep you posted.

Thanks for stopping by!

pam3

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wine o’ the Month . . . sign

  1. Marlene says:

    Pam you are amazing! Beautiful!

  2. pamtanzey says:

    Thanks! I’m excited about this one.

I'd Love to Hear From You!

