Happy Bunny Birthday Basil!

pamtanzey-basil-birthday1

Today is Basil’s Thirteenth Birthday! That’s quite a feat for a Basset Hound, heck a pretty amazing deal for almost any dog. It’s especially incredible for this guy considering eleven months ago his owner took him to the vet to have him put to sleep because he was old, not sick just old.

It’s not really my story to tell I am a friend watching from the sidelines along with the big Basset community on Facebook and these stories become part of your heart. There are so many sad, lost, abandon, abused, injured souls. There are also leagues of brave people attempting to rescue them. You follow their stories and cry when they’re saved and you cry when they aren’t. If I stepped back a bit it isn’t just Basset Hounds, it’s all dogs, all animals, all children, all people, all countries and on and on until it’s Horton Hears A Who. There’s someone in need and someone trying to help.

Basil was helped. The Vet refused to euthanize him and with the assistance of the kind folks at San Diego Basset Rescue and Basil’s pet sitter Cynthia, he was given a new life with three other Bassets in the home of BobtheDog’s Mom and Dad, Kathy and Bob Nali. Bobby was a rescue. He and his dogMom Kathy worked long and hard to help rescue other Bassets. Bobby is helping from the Bridge now and I kinda think he might have helped spirit Basil to Chez Bobby’s to heal some broken hearts.

Basil has a happy life now, he had a French toast Birthday Breakfast,

basiltoast

He shared bites with Penny, Lexie and Leonard.

His favorite toy from his other life was a stuffed bunny so Kathy threw him a Birthday Bunny Blast and his Aunties from all over the country sent cards and plush stuffed bunnies for him to unwrap on his 1st Birthday in his new life, in his new home where he is loved.

I love happy endings! I’m already planning a card for his 2nd Birthday!

If you’d like to help out Basset Rescue and get a cool magnet of Basil in his Rudolph suit contact Kathy at cowbobdog@gmail.com

basilmagnet

Thanks for stopping by!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Happy Bunny Birthday Basil!

  1. You did this so well I would love to re-blog! May I? I do not see a re-blog option as I do with some folks. xoxoxo

  2. So what lessons did Basil’s former family teach their children? That the elderly are disposable. I wonder how they will feel one day when their children abandon them. Parents teach by example. And folks like you, me, and others involved in the rescue community teach by example, too. Basil js a treasure. Happy birthday, sweet boy.

  3. pamtanzey says:

    Thank you Ginny! You certainly may, unless I have something clicked or unclicked about it that I’m not aware of.

  4. pamtanzey says:

    That’s always my first thought too. And they’ll probably never see it coming either.

  5. pamtanzey says:

    Ginny check for the reblog again. I think it doesn’t show up until your first comment has been approved. I checked and it’s there in the reader and on top of the blog. Thanks again!

  6. Oh, no, I cannot imagine trading in one of my old pets like out-of-fashion shoes. Breaks my heart to hear this story and thank heavens this was a vet who knew enough to say “no.”

  7. Rita Kay says:

    Happy Birthday Basil !!
    Pam after following your blog and reading all your post, I come to realize that you have such a heart of gold. I wish more people were like you !!!

  8. pamtanzey says:

    Aww thanks Rita Kay you’re sweet. I appreciate your kind words and I’ll pass your good wishes to Basil!

  9. pamtanzey says:

    I know, me too.

  10. This is a really lovely story. And you are a really lovely lady. Thanks for sharing Basil’s big day!

  11. Basil says thank you to his AUntie Pam and all his other AUnties for making his Birthday special XOXOXOXOXOXOXO

  12. Reblogged this on gspotsylvania and commented:
    One of my favorite artists posted a very special blog about one of my favorite Basset Mom’s rescued dogs – here it is for you to enjoy!

  13. Sandi says:

    We rescued our senior boy, Dozer, when he was between six and seven. This sweet old man will be 13 in July and has become my “heart dog.” I hope he lives at least as long as Daphney at Daphneyland in CA. Long live senior hounds…they ROCK!

  14. Flea says:

    Omigoodness. I can’t imagine euthanizing a dog just because it’s old. Cry, cry, cry.

  15. Cynthia says:

    Happy Belated 1st birthday, I am a bad aunt for being late with greetings and bunny.
    It really will be in the mail soon. So happy that Basil’s story is shared for all to read.
    He has the BEST family a dog could ever want.
    Love to all,
    Cynthia

  16. Cynthia says:

    Well his former owner has not any children, and probably not too many friends left.
    What goes around comes around

  17. loobielooe says:

    Love the drawing. My basset is called basil too!!! He would love a bunny birthday ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. ilargia64 says:

    I am glad Basil is still there…But I do not know what he really thinks about his clothes!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd Love to Hear From You!

