Shadow Puppets

shadow-horse-pamtanzey

This is Leroy dancing in the 50 million candle power high intensity spotlight beam from Hell (the back porch light of the cat-people next door) casting horsie shadow puppets on my shed.

They don’t always have it on, well, there are two of them, but on dark nights like this (New Moon Blessings by the way) I think they get a little edgy being out here so far from the city (two miles from the famous Las Vegas Strip). One must cover one’s eyes walking into the light, not like the light, more like “One more question Mr. President” all the press in the country is in your front yard kind of light.

I have cursed their inconsiderate lights while trying to maneuver out in the big lit up yard to check on the horses, walking into shrubs and tripping over buckets. I do enjoy the dark of the night and watching the planes come in and sitting out in front of the shed listening to the horses snuffling around eating. In the nice calm dark.

Got to admit though, this was so awesome I ran back inside to get my camera. It’s not everyday you get to watch real live horsie shadow puppets.

Thank goodness I don’t live on the front side of them it’s lit up like fricking Disneyland!

Thanks for stopping by!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shadow Puppets

  1. That shadow is awesome! You are a wise woman to hold your tongue about the light. My husband would be over there with a couple of pistols pretending it was the Wild West if he had to put up with it, and it wouldn’t end well. 😉

  2. pamtanzey says:

    I like the way he thinks! Oh they took my guns away before I left California (just kidding never had guns) or those lights would be history and my friends would be bringing me brownies in prison. Those people are just a little bit off and we have a couple too many horses here so I let sleeping dogs lie and wear night masks to keep the neighbor’s nuclear lights from scalding their eyeballs. Cool shadow though huh!

  3. Sleeping dogs are a good thing. 😉 It’s an awesome shadow! It needs to be used for one of those Friday Fictioneers posts where WordPress bloggers write a 100-word flash fiction piece based on a picture. I think rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com runs the program. I don’t have a clue if she takes photo submissions, but the stories this would generate would be fantastic.

  4. pamtanzey says:

    Thanks Maddie. I looked it up and they had an awesome photo so I gave the 100 word thing a try. It was fun! Hard to keep it at a hundred words as trained by NaNo to reach 50,000 I can go on and on and on. And on.

  5. Rita Kay says:

    Pam, what a great horsie puppet !!! Aren’t neighbors wonderful ?!!!! My dream is to own 200 acres and live in the middle of it. If it ever happens I’ll let you know.

  6. pamtanzey says:

    Thanks!! Boy I’m with you! Let me know and I’ll be your neighbor 200 acres away and I like starlight at night!

  7. Rita Kay says:

    Pam with 200 acres I’ll be happy to share part of it with you. We’ll get Maddie and her husband to move on the property also. My husband (Wally) loves doing outside work so it will be perfect, we’ll get him to do the chores for us LOL 🙂

I'd Love to Hear From You!

