Daily Prompt: Mad Libs – The Sparkly Mermaid

Ah a Daily Prompt just when I need it: Turn to your co-workers, kids, Facebook friends, family — anyone who’s accessible — and ask them to suggest an article, an adjective, and a noun. There’s your post title! Now write.

Here she is the Sparkly Mermaid.

mermaid-pamtanzey

This isn’t really about her although it ends with her so we’ll come back to her.

This is about the weather and how it’s like a roller coaster, not a big giant scary one, more like Big Thunder at Disneyland, that’s about the biggest I can handle. So it’s 80 then 85 then drops to the 70s, and chilly enough at night to snuggle with the hounds. Until Sunday when it cranks to 99 out of the blue, which wouldn’t be that much of a problem unless the air conditioner you count on couldn’t blow out a birthday candle if it was right in front of his face.

I won’t bore you with the gigantic rigamarole that ended in a nice cool house this afternoon (Thursday) after days of the edge of hell’s gate (or the beginning of a regular summer but not so fricking soon and not without the armor of the blessed air conditioner.)

I want to discuss the year of the snake and how, hmm maybe I don’t want to talk about the scanner, printer, monitor and living room fan that I’ve had to replace in the last two months. They were old and lived a good life, well I sort of worked them to death and I have other old stuff, including myself that I’d like to not jinx, so um never mind since this seems like it might be a trend.

I bought the dogs new beds from Costco for Christmas, their yearly new bed and blankie presents. Here is YoDaGoodDog (Yossarian) enjoying his.

yoda-bed-pamtanzey

And here is Phoebe preferring the lumpy old bed from last year, with a pillow of course.

beebee-bed

Back to the mermaid. Short rant tonight I’m pooped, stuff breaks, the weather has cooled off again and there’s a new air conditioner in two of my windows so I’m ready, oh really you’re never ready, but if it rides like Big Thunder at least for a while we can look back and say we did it again. We survived another Las Vegas summer.

window

So when you have a little air conditioner in your window you have a big window open to the world at night, which is dumb because I have one neighbor off yonder not a slew of folks walking by, still. So I was hunting through  all my stock for a big sheet of mat board to keep the sun and the night eyes out and there she was. She fits perfect. She used to be in the inside endcap during the holidays a TJ’s gift card on fishing a hook hovering above her hand. That’s how you catch a mermaid. She lives at my house now.

I hope you all have a peaceful weekend. Thanks for stopping by.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Prompt: Mad Libs – The Sparkly Mermaid

  1. I’m already dreading the heat coming. Although the monsoon storms are fun, except the flooding on the streets around here. Not to mention Daisy tripping on the thunder now. Winters are so nice here, I miss the cool already.

  2. pamtanzey says:

    I know me too. Oooh Daisy needs a Thundershirt!

  3. YoDa and Phoebe — too cute!! What a great idea for your window. I like The Sparkly Mermaid. 🙂

  4. Jamie Cheyney says:

    This makes me happy. Not the heat but everything else.

  5. pamtanzey says:

    I’m so glad! Thanks for stopping by!!

I'd Love to Hear From You!

