Super Elmers – My New Hero!

super-elmers

Last Sunday I woke up full of energy and decided it was a great day to mow the weeds down so the yard could grow something resembling grass again. There was plenty of time before the Mother’s Day BBQ at my daughter’s at noon.

One of the Iowa horses was on a walkabout, truly his hoof prints were all over the place. A little Equine Sr in a bucket and he followed me right back to his room. He didn’t get into much trouble. I drove over to get fresh gas. I poured fresh gas all over my foot, the one holding the small funnel in place, getting it into the lawnmower. I mowed the weeds.

Somehow I brushed up against the cactus D. planted under the window to keep her stalker away. The cactus is tall now and has long fingers covered in clusters of soft half inch quills. In the winter the cold makes it droop until you think it must be a goner, then a little rain, or sprinkler, a little sun and woohoo it’s back. It has protecto cactus Jr. next to it. The little guy does the same droop thing and when it came out of it this year it leaned over the chicken wire fence we put up to keep the Bassets from running nose on into it. It wasn’t my nose that ran into it.

Cactus quills are hard enough to remove when you can see them.  When you can’t see them because they are making your butt look like a Schnauzer and there’s only you and not a team of people with tweezers, what the heck do you do? You ask the Google that’s what.

And the answer, the miracle cure . . . Elmer’s all purpose white glue. This should be in everyone’s backpack, heck purse. Spread it on, let it dry and it lifts the quill from the skin. Peel it off and goodbye quills.

So a shower, a load of laundry and a hairdryer on my Elmer’s to make it dry faster and I made it on time to the BBQ. Elmer’s is my new Super Hero.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Super Elmers – My New Hero!

  1. Now that I do not live with cactus (like I did in Floridia) you tell me this!!!

  2. lol awesome! I had no idea glue worked for that.

  3. That is so awesome! Who would have thought! I wonder if it will work on dog snouts. Thanks!

  4. pamtanzey says:

    I know huh! I only found out Sunday after consulting the Google, and spending most of my life in one cactus country or another and sure needing it a couple of times.

  5. pamtanzey says:

    Stuff that should be taught in Kindergarten huh!

  6. pamtanzey says:

    Hmmm not sure but it would be worth a try. I know huh!

  7. Reblogged this on So I've Been Thinking… and commented:
    This is a reblog from my moms blog. Her story on how to safely remove cactus quills. It is hilarious and helpful all at the same time – Google saves the day again!

I'd Love to Hear From You!

