Throwback Thursday- signshop days at Sea World

pamposey-signshop

Yeah, it’s me. Firstly sorry I’ve been away, super busy and waves of not much to say. Not sure why this picture popped into my mind today. I’ve had the ping pong 5-in-one flu since Saturday. It has attacked me from every direction and has been a most unpleasant adventure. Today when I got up I felt okay but no voice.

Back when Dan Fouts was with the Chargers I was a sign painter’s assistant at Sea World San Diego Graphic Arts Center by the Sports Arena with the Pink Pussycat on the corner. This was my favorite job ever despite the look on my face here. I can’t remember now all that time ago if I painted the banner in the dark cold hallway or they had me pretend for the picture, yeah those circles are messy, it was me.

That was me when I was Pam Posey in my favorite Orlon sweater and my not favorite giant glasses at twenty nine, but now it looks to me like I was twelve. It’s where I got to see first hand the other side of men, not the controlling boyfriend side or stern step fatherly side, but how they are with each other, the comradery side. I’d never seen that before. It was like being a mascot to a secret society. They were professionals, sign painters with the highest skills. They worked hard, they bantered, they had sword fights with yardsticks, they taught me how to throw an x-acto knife underhanded have it do a loop and hit the Shamu logo on the trashcan right in the eye. I can still do it too.

They were kind and generous and protective. I enjoyed just about every moment working with them. They changed my perspective. Thanks guys, especially you Don Wilson where ever you are, I hold you in my highest regard.

Thanks for stopping by! Hope you’re all keeping away from the fricking flu bug.

signgoddess

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Throwback Thursday- signshop days at Sea World

  1. Lovin’ the glasses! I think Mary had the same pair and she was adorable in them. I hope you’re feeling better soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. pamtanzey says:

    Thanks! I can finally talk again. How sweet that you loved Mary in the big glasses! Thanks for stopping by.

I'd Love to Hear From You!

