Poetry 201 Day Ten: Future, Sonnet, Chiasmus – Tell Me

pamtanzey-poetry-sonnet-tellme

Tell Me

Three pennies to throw for I Ching

Tell me oh wise one what truth will you bring

Tell me the future is in my command

Tell me oh wise one so I’ll understand.

But what future have I

If the past makes me cry

If the past makes me cry

Then what future have I?

Till your garden removing the weeds

And when all of the old weeds are gone

Find seeds you will love and plant them with joy

And know that it’s time to move on.

To welcome the future you must heal the past

Do whatever you must do and know it will last.

-Pam Tanzey

This poem was written for Writing 201:Poetry. The prompt today is Future, the Form is Sonnet (A sonnet has 14 lines of verse, this one is rhymes as ABAB BCBC CDCD EE) The Device is Chiasmus (a fairly straightforward reordering of words — where A and B are repeated as B and A)

Thanks for following along as I’ve learned the different poetry forms.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poetry 201 Day Ten: Future, Sonnet, Chiasmus – Tell Me

  1. jjz3 says:

    Digging this Pam. Thanks for sharing it. Like he photo of the poem in your handwriting too. Perfect. http://johnjzokovitch.com

  2. pamtanzey says:

    Thanks! I’m following you now too, love your writing.

I'd Love to Hear From You!

