Gone Off to the Rainbow

beebeecookie

Phoebe  BeeBee

Ch. Splash’s La Jolla

September 30, 2003 – March 29, 2015

Godspeed Sweetie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Gone Off to the Rainbow

  1. Anonymous says:

    Pam..that’s a beautiful poem…love it!!! so so sorry for your loss 😥 (((hugs))) ❤ xo

  2. Carol Coyne says:

    So sorry for your loss, my friend!!!! They’re our furry children….they give us so much unconditional love. Sending you a BIG hug. Give me a call when you get a chance. 619.313.1648. Xoxo, Carol

  3. pamtanzey says:

    Thank you Carol I will I’ve been thinking of you a lot lately

  4. Kathy says:

    So sorry Pam.

  5. Janet says:

    Losing our dogs leaves us breathless and feeling empty. Breathe, Pam.
    We are so sorry. Phoebe was the ‘it’ girl.
    Warm hugs to you and your family.

  6. Carol Coyne says:

    I feel your pain, sweetie!! Don’t know if I told you….but I lost my husband last year to pneumonia. My furry sons are bereft….almost as sad as I am….Xoxo, Carol

  7. So very sorry, my friend.

  8. Kim says:

    I am so very sorry. We will light a candle for her tonight. Sending lots of hugs and drool your way.

  9. Bob Nali says:

    So sorry Pam~~Love you~~Kathy

  10. Never easy. Sincere condolences. Hugs

  11. Barb says:

    I’m glad you reposted this poem, and so sorry about Phoebe. My heart breaks with yours. {{{HUGS}}}

  12. “Just above a dog’s paw, where rough pad curves in fullness outward and upward and then, giving away to fur, turns back in toward the body, there is a hollow. Framed by the living steel of sinew and bone, that hollow fits my thumb as if made by my own thumbprint long ago, perhaps in another lifetime when I was handmaiden to a minor goddess. If even a minor goddess is granted the powers to shape things in small ways, then I might have asked for just one thing for the future me; this hollow here just above a dog’s paw. And I would have asked for this so that at some moment in the future the perfect fit of my thumb into that place would serve as a reminder that since time out of mind, for lifetimes without measure, my soul and this dog’s had been together, intertwined in the great ocean of life. In wondering if the hollow was shaped to fit my thumb or my thumb to fill that hollow, I would remember that we are all holder and held, teacher and taught, guide and guided. I would set this hollow here for my future self to remember that even when a heartbeat no longer pulsed faintly under my hands, when my thumb reluctantly stilled its gentle rhythms of stroking the soft fur, our connection would go on. In this simple, sweet hollow, I would mark the dog as my fellow traveler, and my teacher.

    Capable of dramatic teachings, our dogs also move subtly but as relentlessly as water, the flow of their spirit working within us in ways we may not even know. How do we know what it is they have helped us to learn? Sometimes, this is how we discover changes: every step we take is different, easier, informed by the knowledge that has quietly, surely soaked deep into our bones. This understanding seems so right, answers the thirst within us so well we may forget how freshly we have come to this, forget who we were before we embraced this wisdom. Our heads tell us that once, somehow, in a way we can no longer remember, we did move through the world without the understanding that we now possess. We are grateful but mystified, and we wonder how we ever found our way with such a faulty map. Somehow we did find our way, and we will keep moving forward. And always, traveling beside us, the angels who both guide and guard us.”

    From “If a Dog’s Prayers were Answered Bones Would Rain from the Sky” by Suzanne Clothier.

    There is nothing more precious than traveling this world in the company of dogs. Sending healing thoughts to you.

  13. avsweb1 says:

    Sorry for your loss. What a sweet face in the picture you posted.

  14. Anonymous says:

    So sorry for your loss, they always take a big piece of our hearts! Until you meet agin😥

  15. My heart goes out to you.

  16. pamtanzey says:

    This is so beautiful, thanks so much

  17. pamtanzey says:

    Oh Carol I’m so sorry

  18. pamtanzey says:

    Thank you so much Janet

  19. Oh, Pam, I’m so sorry to stop by here and read this. A few tears have been shed for Phoebe. I’m glad I know what’s on the other side of The Rainbow Bridge (thanks to you), so I know she is happy and playing cards with family and friends – maybe even my own Smokey and Joe. … Love you, Pam!

  20. pamtanzey says:

    Thank you Maddie. I think they’re all having a big pot luck card playing evening by the pool with tiki torches and shaved ice.
    I miss her, it’s too quiet now without her ordering me around.

I'd Love to Hear From You!

