Mary, I Always…

pamtanzey-clouds

Mary, I Always…

Trapped in the fence like a wounded bird. The flash of yellow caught my eye. I fished it out from the other side. Ink was smeared from the sprinklers or the rain last night or tears. Creases worn threadbare across the lines from a wallet. I looked past hedges to the rolling green hillside. How many Marys are resting out there? Did she know you always loved her Ben? Why couldn’t you tell her before?

-Pam Tanzey

Writing 101 Day Five: Be Brief

Today’s Prompt: You stumble upon a random letter on the path.You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mary, I Always…

  1. Enables says:

    You say a lot with just a few words and I love the powerful question at the end. Very nice!

I'd Love to Hear From You!

