Updating the Charles Shaw Wall Sign: Sign Goddess Sunday

pamtanzey-shawsign3

This is the bright new updated Charles Shaw sign requested by our Regional, replacing the 2007 sign I made shortly after our store opened.

pamtanzey-2007shawsign

Old sign here and still one of my favorites.

pamtanzey-shawsketch1

It started with a little idea sketch. My Captain wanted a bright more substantial sign filling up a larger area.

pamtanzey-shawsketch2

The sketch grew a little bigger and more complex. He liked it.

pamtanzey-shawsign5

Next was figuring out the sizing of all the pieces from a grid over the sketch and putting them together accurately in my teeny art nook.  I used our clear trash bags flat to make the pattern template for the pieces. The base piece is an old endcap blackboard, all the other pieces are foamcore. Everything was gessoed first then painted with acrylics.

pamtanzey-shawsign4

Brilliantly installed by my Sign Team Six partner Caleb.

pamtanzey-shawsign2

pamtanzey-shawsign1

Elements of the old sign: Charles Schwab, That wine everybody’s talking about etc. were added on hibiscus flowers.

I’ve been refreshing several big signs in our store Trader Joe’s #280 in Henderson, Nevada and there’s always fun projects I’d like to share on Sign Goddess Sunday.  Thanks so much for stopping by!

signgoddess

Pam Tanzey – Sign Goddess

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Updating the Charles Shaw Wall Sign: Sign Goddess Sunday

  1. Hello, I just nominated you for the versatile award. https://awritershelper.wordpress.com/2015/05/03/versatile-award-nomination/ To participate, you have to tell 7 things about yourself and nominate others. I don’t know a thing about any of these awards other than that, and I do appreciate your blog.

I'd Love to Hear From You!

