Halloween Left in the Closet

The owners of Trader Joe’s came to our region for their yearly visit last week. For months we scrubbed, scoured, painted, streamlined, removed all hanging signs, most of the large foamcore signs, and all the big double sided value signs I spent countless hours painting, leaning now toward a clean Bauhaus look. Also, no Halloween decorations, art, signs or Giant pumpkin patch in front of the store, the owners are from Germany and they don’t do Halloween in Germany we were told. Since my Halloween endcap blackboards didn’t get to come out and play I thought I’d put them here on display.

This was a dimensional Mummy I sculpted from a plastic skeleton I bought at K Mart next door. It was a door decoration flat except the skull. I took it apart, wrestled him into the position I wanted, reaching into the Carmel Corn bag,  wrapped him with paper towels and masking tape until he took shape, then I painted him graveyard brown and slime green. He caught the attention of folks coming in the door! He was only up once. Our new Captain thought he was too scary for the kids. Here’s a close up.

Well once again, thanks for stopping by!

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Halloween Left in the Closet

  1. What a wonderful talent you have. Your signs made me smile. It’s sad they won’t be coming out to play this year. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and commenting. I appreciate it very much.

  2. These are fantastic! The pirate should come out every year on “Talk Like a Pirate Day.” The last two mummies liking candy are really cute. 🙂

  3. pamtanzey says:

    Arr Excellent idea! Thanks Maddie! That’s how you can catch mummies, leave a trail of candy. Um or is that E.T…

  4. pamtanzey says:

    Awww thanks Martha! I enjoyed your blog very much, it’s creative and informative and I especially love the little peek into your studio!

I'd Love to Hear From You!

